The AMI Awards is an honor awarded by Yayasan Anugerah Musik Indonesia to recognize outstanding achievements in the Indonesia music industry. The annual presentation ceremony features performance by prominent artist. The first AMI Awards ceremony was held on November 29, 1996, to honor the musical accomplishments by performers for the year 1996 and 34 AMIs trophies were awarded. The number of awards given grew and fluctuated over the years with categories added and removed. The AMI Awards has been held continuously every year and in many prestigious locations since 1997, except in 2007. The AMI Dangdut Awards were held that year as a replacement. From 2000 to 2004, The AMI Awards have been changed to become known as the AMI Sharp Awards (2000-2003) and the AMI Samsung Awards (2004).